“I hate those ebooks. They cannot be the future. They may well be. . . I will be dead” – Maurice Sendak

OK, so I said in my last post that I couldn’t really get into Maurice Sendak books. Good thing Kristin of Briney Deep Designs set me (sort of) straight and directed me to Stephen Colbert’s hilarious two-part interview with Maurice Sendak, which aired in January. It will not be surprising that this interview is not G-rated (among other things, the two discuss Colbert’s book idea, the masterfully ungrammatically titled “I’m a Pole (and so Can You)” and you might be able to see where that goes. Sendak hits so many nails on so many heads, and Colbert is a genius of poker face. It’s a masterpiece. Thanks, Kristin!

I also can’t recommend enough this video interview with Judith Kerr (from the Guardian), the author of “When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit” and all the Mog picture books.

A completely fascinating look at a delightful woman, who, come to think of it, might agree with Sendak on what kids can handle in their picture books. The kind of woman who writes Goodbye Mog, a more than slightly weird book which her most beloved creation, Mog the Cat, dies of old age, and then follows it up with My Henry, a book she describes in this interview:

“It’s about being a widow, but it’s very jolly . . . it’s sort of slightly ridiculous. I mean, it’s totally ridiculous.”

One thought on ““I hate those ebooks. They cannot be the future. They may well be. . . I will be dead” – Maurice Sendak

  1. Pingback: Out of Print Clothing, or Reason #342 why I Love Being a Librarian « Bronwen reads

Leave a Reply

