read, sleep, knit, sleep, read

This was my regimen for the last week or so – I’ve been sick with a mysterious sleepy flu. Just for kicks, I thought I’d make a list of what I’ve read while sick:

Globe and Mail

the new Canadian Living – good recipes for summer noodle salads, incomprehensible instructions for Maple Leaf quilt squares

Goodbye to All That, by Robert Graves – I’ve been meaning to read this for ages, ever since I inherited my grandparents’ nice edition of it (bought to replace a sadly lost first edition that belonged to my grandfather). Starts a bit slowly with its account of English public school life, until you realise with a sickening jolt that a huge proportion of those public-school boys will be dead by 1918. A very good book, but maybe not the best choice when you’re feeling a bit down already.

Little Women – classic comfort food for the soul

The True Story of the Trapp Family Singers – see above

Mediterranean Street Food, by Anissa Helou – why do I read cookbooks when I have no appetite and no energy to cook or do dishes?

The Year of Living Biblically, by A.J. Jacobs – I was reminded of this by a conversation about dietary taboos with my friends on the weekend (rock out nerds!), so I reread it. Still good and interesting.

Leave a Reply

