Immune system speed-dating

My recent move to Wisconsin has had an unexpected side effect: I have caught three vicious viruses since we got here, including the one I am now fighting, a scant three weeks after I recovered from the last one!

So, my plans for heavy-duty reading of Bowling Avenue have been put on hold. I did read, over the weekend, a biography of Margaret Sanger, which I can’t comment on yet because I’m pretty sure there’s a rule somewhere saying you shouldn’t write about birth control, feminism and eugenics in a public forum if you’re pretty sure you have a fever. I also read, as usual, the New York Times, and particularly enjoyed Margaret Atwood’s “Hello Martians, This is America.”

And somewhere in there I read a free copy of Cook’s Country magazine which arrived unsolicited in my mailbox, dropped there, it seems, specifically to taunt me, an anemic in a vegetarian household, with recipes for pulled pork, roast beef, and several items containing bacon.

For the most part, though, I’ve been doing this:

IMG_2159

Tea with lemon, knitting (a plain shawl with moss stitch edging, out of the lovely Lorna’s Laces Solemate,) and lots of laptop time. In particular, I’m enjoying a systematic reading of one of my favourite blogs: Needled: by Kate Davies, interesting to anyone with an interest in knitting, reading, feminist history, textile history (including the history of bathing suits, the topic of Kate’s latest issue of Textisles, her e-magazine), epublishing, hiking, stroke recovery, home-brewed beer, Scotland, and dogs. In other words, a fair cross-section of those reading this blog, I’m pretty sure . . .

5 thoughts on “Immune system speed-dating

  1. Having just discovered your blog, I’m not sure what your fevered state would lead you to say about the Margaret Sanger biography… but whatever it is, I’m sure I was a little disappointed you didn’t share it!

  2. Pingback: Comfortable (a recipe for lentil shepherd’s pie) « Bronwen reads

Leave a Reply

